Breakfast Italiano

This weekend at the farmers market we picked up some wonderful Artisan bread – roasted garlic and rosemary.  Of course the first thing I did when I got home was make a giant grilled cheese sandwich with full fat cheese and it was delicious, but by the end of the night, I have a good portion of the loaf staring me in the face saying “eat me”, “eat me” I can’t justify another fat fest, great bread or not.
So, this morning I hit the gym and then came home for breakfast.  There is the bread — looking tempting, expensive and sad.  Not one to waste money, I’ve convinced myself that I have to get rid of this loaf somehow so I acquiesced to a single slice, an egg, a slice of low-fat cheese and a quickfire bruschetta and it was quite good.  Healthy, low in fat and I got some veggies in at breakfast.  Not to mention I got another slice of wonderful bread…

Here’s the recipe..

Breakfast Italiano
Breakfast Italiano – by Debra Crawford

1 – Cup cherry tomatoes, sliced length ways or in quarters, depending on size
1 – Clove garlic, minced
1 – Tablespoon red onion, diced
2 – Teaspoons fresh basil (3 large leaves)
1 – Teaspoon olive oil
Salt and Pepper

1 – Egg (use just the white for lower calories and fat if you wish)
1 – Slice low fat cheese

1 – Slice toasted bread – I recommend a heavier bread here, like a sour dough or a dense whole wheat so it doesn’t get soggy with the toppings.

In a non-stick pan, heat the olive oil and toss in the cherry tomatoes and onion.  Cook about 3 – 5 minutes or until they begin to soften.  Add garlic and cook one minute more to soften.  Add basil, stir and empty into a bowl.  Set aside.

In same pan, crack egg and cook as desired.  Add a little water to deglaze, if the egg sticks.  It doesn’t have to look pretty as you are topping it anyway.   Salt and pepper as desired.

Toast bread and put on plate.  Top with egg and slice of cheese.  Micro about 20 seconds or until cheese melts.  Top with the bruschetta and enjoy.
Quick Pan Fired Bruschetta
Cook the egg in same pan
Just add bruschetta and serve
Leave a Reply

