Grandma’s Sherry Cake

Grandma’s Sherry Cake
I remember my Grandmother making this cake when I was a little girl.  Even though it wasn’t loaded with frosting, I always loved it.  It was the only cake she ever made.  Don’t be afraid of the sherry wine in this recipe.
Notably a drink for the elderly or upper crust of society – the only people I ever saw drink sherry were Frasier and Niles Crane but sherry gives a great flavor to this cake and blends nicely with the nutmeg.
In reality, my Grandmother wasn’t much of a cook.  I remember only two dishes she made, an orange jello, raisin and carrot salad and this cake.  When I would visit her, breakfast would always be buttered toast on cinnamon raisin bread and we nearly always rode the city bus “downtown” for lunch.  In those days, going downtown was a big deal, calling for hats and white gloves.  Seriously….
I remember her refrigerator was stocked with bread, butter, orange juice and Squirt soda.  Even then I was taking inventory of food.  An early obsession!
Dinner might be a fried pork chop, canned peas and a baked potato.  And if she had to make a special dessert, it was always this cake.  I think she found a winner and stuck to it.
This cake is simple, yet rich and moist, making it an excellent morning cake with coffee, or a great cake to transport to a potluck for dessert.

She would put a doily on top to use as a stencil before she sprinkled the powdered sugar which would give it a beautiful lacy top.  Unlike my Grandmother I don’t keep a supply of doilies on hand, so I just sprinkle the powdered sugar through a fine mesh strainer.

Grandma’s Sherry Cake
Serves 10

Grease and flour a bunt pan.  Preheat oven to 350.

1 –  Box Yellow Cake Mix

1 –  Small Box Instant Vanilla Pudding Mix
4 –  Eggs
3/4 – Cup oil (I use canola)
3/4 – Cup Sherry Wine
1 Tsp Nutmeg – I use freshly grated

In mixer, add all ingredients and beat for two minutes until smooth.  Pour batter into pan and bake approximately 40 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.  Do not over bake.  As soon as the cake is cool enough to touch, turn it out of the pan onto a serving platter and sprinkle with powdered sugar.

Leave a Reply

