Mock Tuna Salad Spread

Mock Tuna close upI’m not sure why folks like to call this mock tuna, or faux tuna, when it isn’t tuna at all, and most vegans and vegetarians don’t need the association “tuna” to make us think of good food.  Apparently carnivores need to be fooled into trying a meat-less dish by claiming “surprise this tastes like the real thing”, not sure why…     But, with this flavor profile, it does remind me of a really good tuna salad, dill, little bits of onion, a little squeeze of lemon freshness and a little bite from the dijon.  This is a winner, even if I wasn’t trying to follow a plant-based diet.  Low in fat and high in fiber, a good protein source and it tastes great!

I especially like this open-faced on pumpernickel; a bread that is more old school, made with rye flour, it is dense but a bit crumbly, so it’s best served as a foundation and not a topper – hence the open face choice.  And, it cuts out an additional 80 calories that I don’t need.

I topped this with a late-season tomato, it’s been so darn hot here that all my tomatoes stopped producing.  I was just at the point of ripping them out when the weather broke, so I fertilized them with some epsom salts and organic fertilizer and BAM, I have three tomatoes covered in flowers.  Happy dance!  My other tomatoes are beginning to show some flowering signs also, so I’m hoping to get a couple, ok, a few more months of production out of them.

Mock Tuna Sandwich

Makes filling for 2 sandwiches

  • 1 -14oz Can Garbanzo Beans, Drained
  • 1 Large Celery Stalk, Minced
  • 1 Tbsp Onion, Minced
  • 2 Tbsp Vegan Mayo (or regular if not vegan)
  • 1 Tsp Dijon Mustard
  • Juice of ½ Small Lemon
  • 1/2 Tsp Dried Dill
  • Fresh Ground Pepper

Rinse the garbanzo beans, drain, and in a medium bowl mash them with a fork to your desired consistency.  I like to leave it a little bit chunky.   Add the rest of the ingredients, mix well.  I served this open-faced on pumpernickel and topped it with a homegrown tomato and finished it off with some freshly ground black pepper.   Consider topping with slices of fresh tomato, cucumber, avocado and sprouts if desired.

Pear Tart 017 (1024x683)Pear Tart 016 (1024x683)

4 thoughts on “Mock Tuna Salad Spread

  1. Wow, this is creative and looks yummy. I can’t wait to try it. And so glad you brought back your tomato plants with Epsom salts and organic fertilizer.

    Like

  2. I agree! I can love meatless breakfast sides “meats” without them being fake bacon or sausage. Black bean burgers and mushroom burgers not trying to be fake hamburgers. How about just plain old yummy food?
    .

    Like

    1. Absolutely! If you haven’t tried a garbanzo bean mix, you need too. I can also remember my Grandmother using the left over pork and beans, she’d smash them up and use them as a sandwich spread. It was actually pretty darn good.

      Like

Leave a Reply

