Fresh Pear Tart

Pear Tart1Fresh Pear Tart

Call it a pie, call it a tart, I make this in a tart pan, so we’ll call it a tart but you could make in a pie pan and call it a pie if that is your intent.  For the past couple of years this has been one of my favorite treats, and this is the best time of the year to try it.  Pears are at peak season and there are lots of varieties out there to try, but I find the best one for this recipe is Bartlett or Bosc varieties.  They bake up tender, buttery and mouth-watering, with just a hint of sweet fruit nectar shining through.

As you might know from my prior post on peach pie, I’m not a fan of commercial type pies, I want to taste the fruit, not a slice of fruit goo, so I don’t like sugary pies; I like my pies to be light on sugar and full of fresh fruit flavor.  I mean, what is the point of making a fruit dessert if you can’t enjoy the fruit!

When I was a kid, my mom was the Queen of the canned pie; she was thrilled when she found the Pillsbury Crust Sticks for a “homemade” crust, and a can of Comstock pie filling.  Usually, it was blueberry and our hungry crew of farmers would devour them.  At the time we were living on 10 thousand acres in Idaho and the only fresh anything around was potatoes, hundreds and hundreds of acres of potatoes, but not a tree or berry bush in sight.   Prior to that we lived on acreage that had been landscaped in fruit and nut trees and we had a giant garden; I think I got spoiled then, climbing up a tree to pick a piece of fruit ripe and ready to fall, those are the flavors I crave to this day.

You can make a normal crust for the bottom of this tart, (or use the one I used for my peach pie here) but I recently discovered a fantastic crust on OhsheGlows that uses almonds, oatmeal, coconut oil and maple syrup and I have to tell you this is a great crust for pies or cookie bars.  It is perfect for this rustic tart, the crunchy crust and the tender pears, it’s really a ideal match.  Believe or not, my husband isn’t a fruit fan, so I reduced the crust recipe to make one tart so that I don’t over indulge.   I simply reduced the crust recipe by 1/3rd, and had enough for the bottom and the crumble top.  [If you are going to make a 9″ pie, increase the quantities below by 5 times the amounts below and you should have plenty for the bottom crust and the crumble top.]

Fresh Pear Tart

Makes One 4” Tart

Note: one 4” tart is large enough for two servings, but you’ll likely want this whole baby to yourself.  I particularly like it for a leisurely weekend breakfast with a couple of cups of good coffee.

For the crust

In your food processor add:

  • ¼” Raw Almonds
  • ¼ Cup of Old-Fashioned Style Oatmeal

Process until medium fine consistency; add

  • 1 Tbsp Coconut Oil
  • 1 Tbsp Maple Syrup
  • 1 Pinch of Salt

Process until combined; add

  • ¼ Cup of Oatmeal (yes another)

Process until just combined (you want a crumbly texture here, you don’t need to over-process).  Press all but 2 tablespoons of the mixture into a non-stick 4” tart pan.   Pre-heat the oven to 350.

For the filling:

  • 1 Medium to Large Fully Ripe Bartlett or Bosc Pear, cored and sliced into ¼ “ slices (no need to peel)
  • 1 Tbsp Coconut Sugar or Brown Sugar
  • 1 Tbsp All-Purpose Flour
  • ½ Tsp Cinnamon

Stir the fruit, sugar, flour and cinnamon together until well coated, layer onto the crust, stack it high.

For the topping:

  • Mix the reserved 2 tablespoons of filing with 1 tablespoon of flour and 1 additional teaspoon of coconut oil, stir well and then press the topping onto the pears.  Press lightly to mound the fruit and topping.

Bake at 350 for approximately 30 – 40 minutes, until golden and the pears are tender.  Cool and remove tart ring.  Serve at room temperature or refrigerate and serve cold.

Pear Tart 004 (1024x683)
The almonds and oatmeal
Pear Tart 005 (1024x683)
Completed crust mixture
What the crumble topping should look like
What the crumble topping should look like
Peat Tart, Roasted White Potatoes and Salmon with Cucumber 029 (1024x683)
Crust is ready
Peat Tart, Roasted White Potatoes and Salmon with Cucumber 028 (1024x683)
Fruit ready for the crust
Pear Tart Complete
Pear Tart Complete
Yum, love the flavors in this
Yum, love the flavors in this
Leave a Reply

